Mark S. Bonham Centre for
Sexual Diversity Studies


Bonham Centre Awards Gala 2017

April 26th 2017 at 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM

The Bonham Centre Awards were established in 2008 to recognize an individual or group that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of and education about public recognition of sexual diversity. Past recipients include authors Edmund White, Patricia Nell-Warren, and Shyam Selvadurai; Dan Savage; HIV-AIDs crusader Stephen Lewis; LGBT rights activist and Oscar-winning screenwriter Dustin Lance Black; CBC Executive Vice President Heather Conway;  Out and Equal CEO and founder Selisse Barry; Degrassi television series co-creator Linda Schuyler; lawyer Barbara Findlay; Olympians Mark Tewksbury, Greg Louganis and Marnie McBean.

This year, the Awards will focus on Indigenous leadership in sexual diversity.   As it is the 150th Anniversary of Confederation, we have chosen to highlight the history and leading contributions of Indigenous communities in recognizing sexual diversity, long predating European settlement.  Our Bonham Centre Award recipients this year are Kent Monkman, Candy Palmater, Teddy Syrette and Lee Maracle.

Buy your tickets here.

April 26th, 2017
6 pm – 9 pm

Hart House – Great Hall

7 Hart House Circle


The format for this year’s gala will be a cocktail reception with light hors d’oeuvres followed by an awards ceremony. The gala is made possible by the generous support of RBC.

Back to Events